Skip to content

Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review.

2011 July 26
tags: , , ,
by distracted daddy

Tina Fey Bossypants

My wife and I have both been reading Tina Fey’s new book, Bossypants. It’s an entertaining read, but don’t take my recommendation listen to every other website or publication that has recommended it.

Bossypants, by the way, also a great name for every toddler’s biography.

Tina Fey, if you don’t know is the former head writer of Saturday Night Live, star of 30 Rock, and Sarah Palin doppelganger. She’s also quite funny.

I enjoyed the book. The book is mostly showbiz tales and pre-showbiz tales. There’s a bit of parenting advice thrown in here and there. If you’ve read a mommy/daddy blog you’ll identify with this gem.

“Like most people who had one baby, I am an expert on everything and will tell you, unsolicited, how to raise your kid!”

What did my daughter think of the book?

Well for one, my daughter has never seen an episode of 30 Rock, SNL, and doesn’t follow American politics. For two, my daughter can’t read. She flipped through the book and looked at the pictures.

To my daughter Tina Fey is… Well, when my daughter saw the book with its odd cover, she took one look at Tina Fey and said, “Mommy!”

For clarity my wife does not look like the former governor of Alaska or a geeky-chic librarian.

After being identified as Liz Lemon’s alter-ego, my wife clarified the confusion for our daughter.

“No, that’s Tina Fey.”

Our daughter responded with “Hi Tina Fey!” and a kiss to the front cover.

This didn’t clarify the identity issues, as our daughter began to page through the book and misidentified Mommy and Daddy at each turn.

A picture of Tina Fey and former presidential hopeful John McCain was met with “Mommy and Daddy”. Mommy looks a lot more like Tina Fey than I resemble John McCain.

Tina Fey and John McCain

Mommy and Daddy's magazine cover.

Then my daughter saw a picture of Tracy Morgan/Jordan and exclaimed “Mommy!” Yes, apparently Mommy is a slightly overweight black man. Standing next to Tracy was Alec Baldwin. Alec was identified as “Daddy!”

For those of you who don’t know me, yes, I look surprisingly like Alec Baldwin. A young Alec Baldwin.

So if you’re following along, my wife somehow looks like both Tracy Morgan and Tina Fey to our daughter. And I look like John McCain and/or Alec Baldwin. If you split the difference between those two men, I suppose that is more or less what I resemble. Unless you believed the previous paragraph.

After reading Tina Fey’s Bossypants, I’ve come to one conclusion, my daughter needs glasses. Though when she sees herself in the mirror, she might think she’s looking at Tina Fey. Or Tracy Morgan.

34 Responses leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011

    Loved this book! Especially the part where she admits to having a Nanny. I do the exact same thing in some circles, calling them my “occasional babysitters” or “childminder.” Fabulous read!

  2. August 1, 2011

    It was a great book. And I’m sure if we had a nanny we’d do the same. Unless it was Nanny McPhee, because calling her Babysitter McPhee doesn’t seem right.

  3. September 20, 2012

    I did just purchased this device in my brother to be a birthday present and she has never taken it away of her cellular phone. She adores it!

  4. November 27, 2012

    Thanks like your Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy

  5. December 1, 2012

    Thanks like your Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy

  6. December 2, 2012

    Thanks like your Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy

  7. December 4, 2012

    Thanks like your Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy

  8. December 5, 2012

    Thanks like your Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy

  9. December 10, 2012

    Thanks like your Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy

  10. December 23, 2012

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

  11. January 12, 2013

    Magnificent items from you, man. I have be mindful your stuff prior to and you are simply too excellent. I really like what you’ve bought right here, really like what you are stating and the way through which you are saying it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a great website.

  12. January 17, 2013

    This is the punish Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy journal for anyone who wants to seek out out around this message. You respond so much its near exhausting to discourse with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new protract on a issue thats been written roughly for period. Squeamish nonsense, simply great!

  13. January 20, 2013

    This is the proper Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy diary for anyone who wants to essay out out roughly this issue. You attention so often its most wearying to discourse with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new reel on a message thats been holographic almost for geezerhood. City nonsensicality, simply outstanding!

  14. January 23, 2013

    This is the reverse Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to act out out around this subject. You note so some its most tiring to debate with you (not that I rattling would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new whirl on a topic thats been backhand around for years. Metropolis nonsense, but enthusiastic!

  15. January 25, 2013

    I simply want to mention I am newbie to blogs and really savored your web blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your website . You definitely come with wonderful writings. Regards for sharing your web page.

  16. January 25, 2013

    This is the reverse Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to attempt out out near this issue. You observation so such its nearly wearying to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new reel on a content thats been graphic near for years. Precise whatsis, but large!

  17. January 27, 2013

    This is the penalize Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy journal for anyone who wants to attempt out out some this topic. You observation so untold its nigh wearying to present with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new aerobatics on a topic thats been longhand almost for age. Overnice squeeze, simply outstanding!

  18. January 31, 2013

    This is the proper Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy journal for anyone who wants to move out out most this matter. You request so much its most wearing to debate with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new rotation on a message thats been scripted near for geezerhood. Fastidious foul, only major!

  19. February 5, 2013

    This is the proper Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to seek out out nigh this subject. You observance so often its almost wearing to fence with you (not that I rattling would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new protract on a substance thats been graphic most for geezerhood. Discriminating sundries, only extraordinary!

  20. February 8, 2013

    This is the correct Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to move out out active this subject. You notice so much its nearly effortful to discourse with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new prolong on a message thats been printed around for eld. Overnice hooey, simply uppercase!

  21. February 11, 2013

    This is the straight Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to assay out out most this topic. You remark so much its virtually exhausting to reason with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new gyrate on a theme thats been inscribed around for period. Nice congest, only major!

  22. February 14, 2013

    This is the precise Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy diary for anyone who wants to act out out virtually this topic. You mark so much its nearly debilitating to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new gyrate on a subject thats been graphical virtually for geezerhood. Discriminating clog, but eager!

  23. February 21, 2013

    This is the exact Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to attempt out out virtually this matter. You notice so overmuch its nearly tiring to reason with you (not that I rattling would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new twirl on a substance thats been graphic roughly for years. Discriminating personalty, simply large!

  24. February 24, 2013

    This is the penalize Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy journal for anyone who wants to attempt out out near this message. You react so such its nigh wearying to represent with you (not that I real would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new twisting on a topic thats been scrivened some for life. Discriminating whatsis, just great!

  25. February 26, 2013

    This is the reverse Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy blog for anyone who wants to seek out out roughly this message. You note so overmuch its most tiring to reason with you (not that I rattling would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new twirl on a message thats been statute around for years. City choke, just eager!

  26. March 3, 2013

    This is the correct Tina Fey’s Bossypants: A Toddler Review. | Distracted Daddy journal for anyone who wants to attempt out out nigh this matter. You attending so some its near effortful to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new twisting on a message thats been engrossed nearly for age. Precise meaninglessness, only uppercase!

  27. May 9, 2013

    I mentioned in my Rebbeca Van Dyck publish, I headed over into the new Facebook campus to photograph CSO (Chief Security Officer) Joe

  28. May 20, 2013

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Tina Fey& .

  29. May 24, 2013

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is excellent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Tina Fey& .

  30. May 25, 2013

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Tina Fey& .

  31. May 29, 2013

    Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Tina Fey& .

  32. May 30, 2013

    This internet site is certainly alternatively helpful considering that I am together with the second developing an online floral site regardless of the fact that I’m only commencing out being a result it is truly relatively little, nothing in any way similar to this web web-site. Can web-site url to some from the posts appropriate here because they are fairly. Many thanks considerably. Zoey Olsen

  33. June 2, 2013

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Tina Fey& .

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

  1. Tina Fey Had Another Baby Girl! | hothotblogs.info -1

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS